Western University of Health Sciences Interprofessional Western University of Health Sciences

Planning Process

On July 23, 2007, the formal planning process for Western University of Health Science’s Interprofessional Education was launched via an inaugural IPE Committee meeting. University faculty, staff and administrators appointed to the Committee by Dr. Ben Cohen, then Provost and Chief Operating Officer, officially kicked off the IPE planning process.

In fall 2007, a series of small group faculty luncheon meetings were held to discuss the concept of interprofessional education at WesternU. More than 80 faculty members participated in these brainstorming sessions. The idea to conduct a pilot study on the design of a case-based course was only one of many ideas generated at these important faculty meetings.

The IPE Planning Oversight Committee was a dedicated group of WesternU faculty and staff. The Committee met periodically to review the progress of the IPE work groups. The IPE Committee was further divided into nine work stream groups:

A total of 50 dedicated, talented faculty (medicine, nursing, pharmacy, physical therapy, physician assistant, veterinary medicine, optometry, dental medicine and podiatric medicine) and administrators were members and leaders of the work groups. These groups met to plan, develop and implement the various aspects of the IPE curriculum. You can find the members of the IPE Oversight Committee at the bottom of this page.

The Chairs of the work groups served as members of the IPE Steering Committee. Dr. Sheree Aston, Vice Provost, Academic Affairs is the Chair of the IPE Initiative. The department of IPE was established in 2009. Dr. John Tegzes is the Director of IPE. Faculty members from each of the 9 health professional programs serve as liaisons for each of the three program phases.

The first phase of this curriculum started in the 2009-2010 academic year, concurrent with the opening of the new colleges of optometry, dental medicine and podiatric medicine. The second phase of the curriculum started in the 2010-2011 academic year.  Portions of the third phase have been in pilot testing since the 2011-2012 academic year.




IPE Oversight Committee
Sheree Aston, Vice Provost/Academic Affairs, Chair

Name Title
Miary Andriamiarisoa Web Architect
Sheree Aston, OD,MA, PhD Vice Provost/Academic Affairs, Professor of Optometry
Elizabeth Boynton, DVM Professor, CVM
David Connett, DO, FACOOFP Assistant Dean for Post Doctoral Education and Development, COMP
Alan Cundari, DO Chair Family Medicine and Chair of the Curriculum Committee, COMP
Michelle Emmert Director of University Student Relations (USA)
Gary Gugelchuk, PhD Executive Vice Provost for Academic Development and Effectiveness, Academic Affairs
Beverly Sanks-Guidry, EdD Vice President of Student Affairs (USA)
Roy Guizado, MS, PA-C CAHP Physician Assistant Chair/Assistant Professor
Lawrence B. Harkless, DPM Founding Dean and Professor, College of Podiatric Medicine
Scott Helf, DO Director of Rotations/Development/ Medical Informatics & Educational Technologies, COMP
Steven Henriksen, PhD Vice President for Research and Biotechnology
Elizabeth Hoppe, OD, MPH, DrPH Founding Dean and Professor of Optometry
Lester Jones, DPM, MS Associate Dean, Academic Affairs, CPM
Kay Kalousek, DO, MS Assisant Dean of Osteopathic Medicine, Office of Medical Education, COMP
Jeffery Keating Executive Director of Public Affairs
James J. Koelbl, DDS, MS,MJ Founding Dean and Professor of Dental Medicine
Daniel Kurtz, PhD, OD Associate Dean of Academic Affairs
Diana Lithgow, PhD, MSN, FNP-C Director, MSN, FNP Program, CGN
Susan Mackintosh, DO Assistant Dean of Osteopathic Medicine, Office of Medical Education, COMP
Wallace Murray, PhD Associate Dean, COP
Donna Redman-Bentley, PT, PhD CAHP Associate Dean for Research/Professor
Daniel Robinson, PharmD Dean of the College of Pharmacy
Joan Sandell, DMD Assistant Provost for Strategic Operations & Clinical Services
Joan Sandell, DMD Assistant Provost for Clinical Operations, Academic Affairs
Dawn Stone, MN Assistant Professor, CGN
Richard Sugerman, PhD Assistant Vice President for Academic Program Development Academic Affairs
Robert Trombly, DDS, JD Executive Associate Dean, CDM
Stephen Waldhalm, DVM, PhD Assistant Dean, Faculty Affairs, CVM

Key: Academic Affairs; CAHP=College of Allied Health Professions, CGN=College of Graduate Nursing, GCBS=Graduate College of Biomedical Sciences, CO=College of Optometry, CPM= College of Podiatric Medicine, CDM= College of Dental Medicine, COMP, COP=College of Pharmacy, CVM=College of Veterinary Medicine, IT=Information Technology, SA=Student Affairs