Western University of Health Sciences Learning Enhancement & Academic Development (LEAD) Western University of Health Sciences
Learning Enhancement & Academic Development (LEAD)

Learning Resources: CDM

Meet the LEAD Staff

LEAD staff works as an efficient and knowledgeable team. Although every counselor is proficient in the main areas of academic concern, each counselor also has at least one additional area of expertise. The result is that students often are not only seen by the counselor they may be starting out with, but are in addition referred by that first counselor to another team member, depending on how a student’s needs are best served. In addition, processes have been put into place to ensure that each student receives the best care possible with all counselors providing congruent information.


 Pomona, CA Staff

 
Dagmar Cofer

 Dagmar M. Goretzki Cofer, MS, MAMS

Director
(909) 469-5203
dcofer@westernu.edu

Academic Life Skills Guru

AREAS: Academic skills training, Well-being, Stress management, Focus skills, Communication skills, Test taking strategies

 

Dagmar video 

Hector Arroyo

Hector Arroyo Jr., Ed.D.

Assistant Director
(909) 706-8499
harroyo@westernu.edu

Group Dynamics & Tutoring Czar

AREAS: Academic editing, Graduate research skills, Academic skills training, Test taking strategies, ESL assistance, Communication Skills, Group dynamics

 

Hector video 

 

 

 

Neil Birt

Neil Birt, MS 

Learning Skills Specialist
(909) 706-3827
nbirt@westernu.edu

Tech Wizard & Exam Master

AREAS: Academic editing, Online Learning, Academic skills training, ESL assistance, Test taking strategies, Assessment, Data analysis

Neil video 

Yolanda Haro

Yolanda Haro, MA

Learning Skills Specialist
(909) 469-8347
yharo@westernu.edu

Wellbeing Virtuoso

AREAS: Study Strategies, Well-being, Stress Management, Time Management

Yolanda video 

Martha Ruelas

Martha Ruelas, MHSc

Office Manager
(909) 469-5325
mruelas@westernu.edu

The Hidden Hand of Success

 

Martha video 


 

Lebanon, OR Staff

 

Karen Hill

Karen Hill, M.Ed.

COMP-Northwest Learning Skills Specialist
Ph: (541)259-0226
Fax: (541)259-0201
hillk@westernu.edu

Academic Skills Champion

AREAS: Academic skills training, Organization, Focus, Test-taking strategies, Wellbeing and stress management

Karen video