Home

College of Graduate Nursing

Faculty & Staff

The College of Graduate Nursing is under the leadership of Dean Karen Hanford, EdD, MSN, FNP. Other members of the College’s faculty and administrative staff are listed here with their contact information. For additional background information on selected faculty and staff, click on the name.

Faculty and Administration

Portrait of Jan Boller, PhD, RN

Jan Boller, PhD, RN

Assistant Dean of Community Engagement, Fletcher Jones Foundation Endowed Chair for Nursing Safety & Quality, Director of DNP Program

jboller@westernu.edu

Portrait of Linda Flores, RN, MSN, CEN

Linda Flores, RN, MSN, CEN

Simulation Coordinator and Assistant Professor

lflores@westernu.edu

Portrait of Karen Hanford, EdD, MSN, FNP

Karen Hanford, EdD, MSN, FNP

Professor, Founding Dean Emerita

khanford@westernu.edu

Portrait of Diana Lithgow, PhD, FNP-BC, RN

Diana Lithgow, PhD, FNP-BC, RN

Assistant Dean of Distance Operations, Director of MSN/FNP and Ambulatory Care Nursing Programs and Professor

dlithgow@westernu.edu

Portrait of Marci Luxenburg-Horowitz, DNP, RN, CNL

Marci Luxenburg-Horowitz, DNP, RN, CNL

Assistant Professor, Director of the Health Systems Leadership MSN Program

mhorowitz@westernu.edu

Portrait of Patricia Shakhshir, PhD, CNS, RN-BC

Patricia Shakhshir, PhD, CNS, RN-BC

Assistant Director of MSN-E Program and Assistant Professor

pshakhshir@westernu.edu

Portrait of Dawn Stone, PhD(c), MN, RN, ANP-BC, COHN-S

Dawn Stone, PhD(c), MN, RN, ANP-BC, COHN-S

Director of MSN Program, Ambulatory Care Track and Associate Professor

dstone@westernu.edu

Portrait of Ivy C. Tuason, PhD, RN, FNP-BC

Ivy C. Tuason, PhD, RN, FNP-BC

Director of MSN-E Program and Assistant Professor

ituason@westernu.edu

Administrative Staff 

Portrait of Amber Alvarado

Amber Alvarado

Administrative Assistant III

aalvarado@westernu.edu

Portrait of Eva Badouin, BS

Eva Badouin, BS

Director of Student Services

ebadouin@westernu.edu

Portrait of Jennifer Castro

Jennifer Castro

Manager of Clinical Affiliations, FNP Program Administrator

jlcastro@westernu.edu

Portrait of Matthew Durkin, MA

Matthew Durkin, MA

Director of Assessment

mdurkin@westernu.edu

Portrait of Alexandria Escobedo

Alexandria Escobedo

Administrative Associate I

aescobedo@westernu.edu

Portrait of Ryan Khoo

Ryan Khoo

Instructional Designer

rkhoo@westernu.edu

Portrait of Mitzi McKay, MFA

Mitzi McKay, MFA

Assistant Dean of Student Affairs

mmckay@westernu.edu

Portrait of Gabriel Martinez

Gabriel Martinez

Manager of Doctor of Nursing Practice Program and Educational Technology

gmartinez@westernu.edu

Portrait of Raymond Raus

Raymond Raus

Director of Operations

rraus@westernu.edu

Portrait of Shelby Rusu, MPH, CHES

Shelby Rusu, MPH, CHES

Administrative Associate I

srusu@westernu.edu

Portrait of Ozzy (Osvaldo) Turcaz

Ozzy (Osvaldo) Turcaz

Operations Associate/Simulation Technician

oturcaz@westernu.edu