Home

College of Graduate Nursing

Faculty & Staff

The College of Graduate Nursing is under the leadership of Dean Karen Hanford, EdD, MSN, FNP. Other members of the College’s faculty and administrative staff are listed here with their contact information. For additional background information on selected faculty and staff, click on the name.

Faculty and Administration

WesternU Seal- Default Image

Joey Dang, MSN, RN, FNP-C

Assistant Professor, Assistant Director of the MSNE Program

kadang@westernu.edu

Portrait of Donna Emanuele, DNP, RN, FNP-BC, CNS, FAANP

Donna Emanuele, DNP, RN, FNP-BC, CNS, FAANP

Associate Professor, Director of the DNP Program

demanuele@westernu.edu

Portrait of Karen Hanford, EdD, MSN, FNP

Karen Hanford, EdD, MSN, FNP

Professor, Founding Dean Emerita

khanford@westernu.edu

Portrait of Rodney (Rod) Hicks, PhD, RN, FAANP, FAAN

Rodney (Rod) Hicks, PhD, RN, FAANP, FAAN

Professor, Assistant Dean of Administration and Research

rhicks@westernu.edu

Portrait of Marci Luxenburg-Horowitz, DNP, RN, CNL

Marci Luxenburg-Horowitz, DNP, RN, CNL

Assistant Professor, Director of the Health Systems Leadership MSN Program

mhorowitz@westernu.edu

Portrait of Patricia Shakhshir, PhD, CNS, RN-BC

Patricia Shakhshir, PhD, CNS, RN-BC

Director of MSN-E Program and Associate Professor

pshakhshir@westernu.edu

Portrait of Dawn Stone, PhD(c), MN, RN, ANP-BC, COHN-S

Dawn Stone, PhD(c), MN, RN, ANP-BC, COHN-S

Director of MSN Program, Ambulatory Care Track and Associate Professor

dstone@westernu.edu

Portrait of Ivy C. Tuason, PhD, RN, FNP-BC

Ivy C. Tuason, PhD, RN, FNP-BC

Associate Professor, Assistant Dean of Global Health and Innovation

ituason@westernu.edu

Administrative Staff 

Portrait of Amber Alvarado

Amber Alvarado

Administrative Assistant III

aalvarado@westernu.edu

Portrait of Eva Badouin, BS

Eva Badouin, BS

Director of Student Services

ebadouin@westernu.edu

Portrait of Jennifer Castro

Jennifer Castro

Manager of Clinical Affiliations, FNP Program Administrator

jlcastro@westernu.edu

Portrait of Matthew Durkin, MA

Matthew Durkin, MA

Director of Assessment

mdurkin@westernu.edu

Portrait of Alexandria Escobedo

Alexandria Escobedo

Administrative Associate I

aescobedo@westernu.edu

Portrait of Ryan Khoo

Ryan Khoo

Instructional Designer

rkhoo@westernu.edu

Portrait of Mitzi McKay, MFA

Mitzi McKay, MFA

Assistant Dean of Student Affairs

mmckay@westernu.edu

Portrait of Gabriel Martinez, MBA

Gabriel Martinez, MBA

Manager of Doctor of Nursing Practice Program and Educational Technology

gmartinez@westernu.edu

Portrait of Raymond Raus

Raymond Raus

Director of Operations

rraus@westernu.edu

Portrait of Lila Thi

Lila Thi

Operations Associate

lthi@westernu.edu