Home

College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific

Basic Medical Sciences

The Department of Basic Medical Sciences is chaired by Dr. Nissar A. Darmani. COMP faculty and staff responsible for the Basic Medical Science portion of WesternU’s Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine curriculum are listed here with their contact information. For additional background information on selected faculty and staff, click on the name.

Portrait of Nissar A. Darmani, PhD

Nissar A. Darmani, PhD

Associate Dean, Basic Sciences and Research
Chair, Basic Medical Sciences
Professor, Pharmacology
COMP-Pomona

ndarmani@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5654
Lab#: (909) 469-5218

Portrait of Philip Brownell, PhD

Philip Brownell, PhD

Vice Chair, Basic Medical Sciences
Professor of Physiology
COMP-Northwest

pbrownell@westernu.edu
Office#: (541) 259-0228

Portrait of Raj P. Kandpal, PhD

Raj P. Kandpal, PhD

Assistant Chair of BMS
Professor of Biochemistry
COMP-Pomona

rkandpal@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 706-3520
Lab#: (909) 706-3533

Portrait of John Mata, PhD

John Mata, PhD

Assistant Chair of BMS
Associate Professor of Pharmacology
Research Lab Director
COMP-Northwest

jmata@westernu.edu
Office#: (541) 259-0231

Portrait of Xiaoning Bi, MD, PhD

Xiaoning Bi, MD, PhD

Professor of Physiology
COMP-Pomona

xbi@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5487
Lab#: (909) 469-5471

Portrait of Mihai Covasa, PhD

Mihai Covasa, PhD

Associate Professor of Physiology
COMP-Pomona

mcovasa@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-8215
Lab#: (909) 469-8291

Portrait of Duane Foley, PhD

Duane Foley, PhD

Professor of Physiology
COMP-Pomona

dfoley@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5221

Portrait of Sebastien Fuchs, MD, PhD

Sebastien Fuchs, MD, PhD

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
COMP-Pomona

sfuchs@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5232

Portrait of Steven J. Henriksen, PhD

Steven J. Henriksen, PhD

Professor of Pharmacology
COMP-Pomona

shenriksen@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5299

Portrait of Manish Issar, PhD

Manish Issar, PhD

Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
COMP-Pomona

missar@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 706-3752

Portrait of Glen Kisby, PhD

Glen Kisby, PhD

Professor of Pharmacology
COMP-Northwest

gkisby@westernu.edu
Office#: (541) 259-0217

Portrait of Robert N. Pechnick, PhD

Robert N. Pechnick, PhD

Professor of Pharmacology
COMP-Pomona

rpechnick@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-8669<br />Lab#: TBA

Portrait of Miklos Peterfy, PhD

Miklos Peterfy, PhD

Professor of Biochemistry
COMP-Pomona

mpeterfy@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 706-3949

Portrait of Beatrice Saviola, PhD

Beatrice Saviola, PhD

Associate Professor of Microbiology
COMP-Pomona

bsaviola@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5373<br />Lab#: 469-5436

Portrait of Thomas Squier, PhD

Thomas Squier, PhD

Professor of Biochemistry
COMP-Northwest

tsquier@westernu.edu
Office#: (541) 259-0230

Portrait of Michelle Steinauer, PhD

Michelle Steinauer, PhD

Assistant Professor of Microbiology
COMP-Northwest

msteinauer@westernu.edu

Portrait of Hendrik Szurmant, PhD

Hendrik Szurmant, PhD

Associate Professor of Microbiology
COMP-Pomona

hszurmant@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 706-3938

Portrait of Colleen Talbot, PhD

Colleen Talbot, PhD

Director of Pre-Clinical Education
Professor of Physiology
COMP-Northwest

ctalbot@westernu.edu

Portrait of Gerald R. Thrush, PhD

Gerald R. Thrush, PhD

Associate Dean, Academic Affairs
Professor of Immunology
COMP-Pomona

gthrush@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5374

Portrait of Vishwanath Venketaraman, PhD

Vishwanath Venketaraman, PhD

Associate Professor of Microbiology/Immunology
COMP-Pomona

vvenketaraman@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 706-3736
Lab#: (909) 469-6621

Portrait of Edward Wagner, PhD

Edward Wagner, PhD

Professor of Physiology
COMP-Pomona

ewagner@westernu.edu
Office/Lab#: (909) 469-5239

Portrait of Li Zhong, PhD

Li Zhong, PhD

Associate Professor of Physiology
COMP-Pomona

lzhong@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-8220/Lab#: (909) 469-8236

ADJUNCT Faculty

Portrait of Donald E. Walters, PhD

Donald E. Walters, PhD

Adjunct Associate Professor of Pharmacology
COMP-Pomona

dewalters@westernu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Portrait of Jeffrey Felton, PhD

Jeffrey Felton, PhD

Professor of Microbiology (Emeritus)
COMP-Pomona

jfelton@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5226

Portrait of James Martin, Dr.rer.nat.

James Martin, Dr.rer.nat.

Professor of Physiology and Behavioral Sciences (Emeritus)
COMP-Pomona

jmartin@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5229

Portrait of Stanley Wong, PhD

Stanley Wong, PhD

Professor of Pharmacology (Emeritus)
COMP-Pomona

swong@westernu.edu
HPC# 2257

 

Support Staff

Portrait of Nona Williamson, BS Psychology and Sociology, Summa Cum Laude

Nona Williamson, BS Psychology and Sociology, Summa Cum Laude

Manager, Basic Medical Sciences
COMP-Pomona

nwilliamson@westernu.edu
(909) 469-5595

Portrait of Kristine King

Kristine King

Administrative Associate for BMS
COMP-Pomona

kking@westernu.edu
(909) 706-3483

Portrait of Lisa Amaro

Lisa Amaro

Administrative Assistant for BMS
COMP-Pomona

lamaro@westernu.edu
(909) 469-8668

Portrait of Jill Pfaff

Jill Pfaff

Coordinator of Animal Resources and Lab Management
COMP-Northwest

jpfaff@westernu.edu