Home

College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific

Clinical Sciences

The Department of Clinical Sciences consists of the Departments of Obstetrics & Gynecology, Pathology, Pediatrics, Psychiatry and Surgery. Its faculty members are engaged in the development and delivery of pre-clinical and clinical curriculum. During the pre-clinical years, department faculty members work with the Office of Academic Affairs to integrate clinically relevant information with the basic medical sciences via the systems-based approach. In the clinical years, department faculty members work with the Clinical Education Department to develop clinical clerkships and curriculum. In addition to their efforts in the pre-clinical and clinical curriculum, members of the Clinical Sciences Department are also active in their respective clinical discipline and participate in research. The Mission of the Clinical Sciences Department at the College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific (COMP) is to prepare students to become technically competent, culturally sensitive, professional and compassionate physicians who are prepared for graduate medical education, who are life long learners and will serve society by providing comprehensive, patient-centered healthcare with the distinctive osteopathic philosophy. This is accomplished through excellence in curriculum, translational research, service, osteopathic clinical practice and the enhancement of osteopathic graduate medical education. Marcel Fraix, DO is the Chair for and heads the Clinical Sciences Department. Please click on the name of the faculty member for additional information.

Portrait of Marcel P. Fraix, DO, MBA, FAAPMR

Marcel P. Fraix, DO, MBA, FAAPMR

Assistant Dean, Strategic Initiative & Population Health
Chair, Clinical Sciences Department
Chair and Associate Professor, PM&R
COMP-Pomona

mfraix@westernu.edu


OB/Gyn

Portrait of Anita Nelson, MD

Anita Nelson, MD

Chair & Professor of OB/GYN
COMP-Pomona

nelsona@westernu.edu

Portrait of Joseph Gambone, DO, MPH

Joseph Gambone, DO, MPH

Clinical Professor of OB/GYN
COMP-Pomona

jgambone@westernu.edu

Pathology

Portrait of Cyrus Parsa, DO

Cyrus Parsa, DO

Chair & Professor of Pathology
COMP-Pomona

cparsa@westernu.edu

Portrait of Chaya Prasad, MD, MBA

Chaya Prasad, MD, MBA

Associate Professor of Pathology
COMP-Pomona

cprasad@westernu.edu

Portrait of Robert Orlando, MD

Robert Orlando, MD

Professor of Pathology
COMP-Pomona

rorlando@westernu.edu

Portrait of Jin Guo, MD

Jin Guo, MD

Assistant Professor of Pathology
COMP-Pomona

jguo@westernu.edu

Portrait of Vincent Mesa, DO

Vincent Mesa, DO

Assistant Professor of Pathology
COMP-Northwest

vmesa@westernu.edu

Pediatrics

Portrait of Lisa Warren, DO

Lisa Warren, DO

Chair & Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
COMP-Pomona

lwarren@westernu.edu

Portrait of Elisabeth Guenther, MD, MPH

Elisabeth Guenther, MD, MPH

Vice-Chair, Associate Professor of Pediatrics
COMP-Northwest

eguenther@westernu.edu

Portrait of Mariam Fahim, DO

Mariam Fahim, DO

Assistant Professor of Pediatrics
COMP-Pomona

mfahim@westernu.edu

Portrait of Mary Ann Magoun, DO

Mary Ann Magoun, DO

Assistant Professor of NMM/OMM and Pediatrics
COMP-Pomona

mmagoun@westernu.edu

Psychiatry

Portrait of Yadi Fernandez-Sweeny, PsyD, MS

Yadi Fernandez-Sweeny, PsyD, MS

Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
COMP-Pomona

yfernandez-sweeny@westernu.edu

Surgery

Portrait of Vivian Davis, DO

Vivian Davis, DO

Chair & Professor of Surgery
COMP-Pomona

vdavis@westernu.edu

Portrait of Marian Safaoui, MD

Marian Safaoui, MD

Assistant Professor of Surgery
COMP-Pomona

msafaoui@westernu.edu

Support Staff

Portrait of June Guerrero

June Guerrero

Administrative Assistant III
COMP-Pomona

jguerrero@westernu.edu