Western University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific Western University of Health Sciences
College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific

Faculty

The Department of Basic Medical Sciences is chaired by Dr. Nissar A. Darmani. COMP faculty and staff responsible for the Basic Medical Science portion of WesternU's Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine curriculum are listed here with their contact information. For additional background information on selected faculty and staff, click on the name.  
N Darmani
Nissar A. Darmani, PhD Associate Dean for Basic Sciences and Research Chair, Basic Medical Sciences COMP-Pomona ndarmani@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 469-5654 Lab#: (909) 469-5218
 
P Brownell
Phillip Brownell, PhD Vice Chair, Basic Medical Sciences Professor of Physiology COMP-Northwest pbrownell@westernu.edu Office#: (541) 259-0228
 
G Thrush
Gerald R. Thrush, PhD Assistant Dean of Pre-Clinical Education Interim Assistant Chair of BMS Professor of Immunology COMP-Pomona gthrush@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 469-5374
 
Xiaoning Bi, PhD Professor of Physiology COMP-Pomona xbi@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 469-5487 Lab#: (909) 469-5471
 
Mihai Covasa, PhD Associate Professor of Physiology COMP-Pomona mcovasa@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 469-8215 Lab#: (909) 469-8291
 
Douglas W. Ethell, PhD Associate Professor of Molecular and Neurobiology COMP-Pomona dethell@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 469-3491 Lab#: (909) 706-3496
 
Jeffrey Felton, PhD Professor of Microbiology COMP-Pomona jfelton@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 469-5226
 
Duane Foley, PhD Professor of Physiology COMP-Pomona dfoley@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 469-5221
 
Sebastien Fuchs, MD, PhD Assistant Professor of Pharmacology COMP-Pomona sfuchs@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 469-5232
 
Steven J. Henriksen, Ph.D Professor of Pharmacology COMP-Pomona shenriksen@westernu.edu (909) 469-5299
 
M Issar
Manish Issar, PhD Assistant Professor of Pharmacology COMP-Pomona missar@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 706-3752
 
R Kandpal
Raj P. Kandpal, PhD Associate Professor of Biochemistry COMP-Pomona rkandpal@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 706-3520 Lab#: (909) 706-3533
 
Glen Kisby, PhD
Glen Kisby, PhD Associate Professor of Pharmacology COMP-Northwest  gkisby@westernu.edu Office#: (541) 259-0217
 
Pen-Jen Lin, PhD
Pen-Jen Lin, PhD Assistant Professor COMP-Pomona plin@westernu.edu
 
J Martin
James Martin, Dr.rer.nat. Professor of Physiology and Behavioral Sciences COMP-Pomona jmartin@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 469-5229
 
John Mata, PhD
John Mata, PhD Associate Professor of Pharmacology COMP-Northwest  jmata@westernu.edu Office#: (541) 259-0231
 
Katherine Mitsouras, PhD Assistant Professor of Biochemistry COMP-Pomona kmitsouras@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 706-3484
 
R Pechnick
Robert N. Pechnick, PhD Professor of Pharmacology COMP-Pomona rpechnick@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 469-8669 Lab#: TBA
 
Beatrice Saviola, PhD Associate Professor of Microbiology COMP-Pomona bsaviola@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 469-5373 Lab#: 469-5436
 
Thomas Squire, PhD
Thomas Squier, PhD Professor of Biochemistry COMP-Northwest tsquier@westernu.edu Office#: (541) 259-0230
 
Michelle Steinauer
Michelle Steinauer, PhD Assistant Professor of Microbiology COMP-Northwest  msteinauer@westernu.edu
 
Colleen Talbot, PhD Professor of Physiology COMP-Pomona ctalbot@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 469-8221  
 
Vishwanath Venketaraman, PhD Associate Professor of Microbiology/Immunology COMP-Pomona vvenketaraman@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 706-3736 Lab#: (909) 469-6621
 
Edward Wagner, PhD Associate Professor of Physiology COMP-Pomona ewagner@westernu.edu Office/Lab#: (909) 469-5239
 
Donald Walters, PhD Associate Professor of Pharmacology COMP-Pomona dewalters@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 469-5592
 
Stanley Wong, PhD Professor of Pharmacology (Emeritus) COMP-Pomona swong@westernu.edu HPC# 2257
 
Li Zhong, PhD Associate Professor of Physiology COMP-Pomona lzhong@westernu.edu Office#: (909) 469-8220 Lab#: (909) 469-8236
 

Support Staff

 
Nona Williamson Administrative Associate for the Assistant Dean and Basic Medical Sciences COMP-Pomona (909) 469-5595 nwilliamson@westernu.edu Fax: (909) 469-5698
Kristine King Administrative Assistant for BMS COMP-Pomona (909) 706-3483 kking@westernu.edu
Amber Mathieu
Amber Mathieu Administrative Assistant for BMS COMP-Pomona (909) 469-8668 amathieu@westernu.edu
Katie Zeiner Research Coordinator COMP-Northwest  kzeiner@westernu.edu

Monica Guerrero

Monica Guerrero
Administrative Assistant
COMP-Northwest
(541)259-0305
mguerrero@westernu.edu