Western University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific Western University of Health Sciences
College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific

Physician and Society II

The goal of Physician and Society II (PAS II) is to help shape medical students understanding of their world beyond the typical clinical setting and the interaction between the practice of medicine and real life events. This course is only a starting point for medical students to see professional possibilities in a much broader local, national and global context. Through experiential case studies and discussion topics, students will interact with faculty and peers as they study contemporary health issues impacting the delivery of healthcare in the United States and throughout the world. Topics include: disease prevention and the importance to model healthy lifestyles and behaviors, health policy and healthcare reform, patient safety, legal issues including, confidentiality, EMR, malpractice, depositions, fraud and abuse, the healthcare providers’ role in natural and manmade disasters and finally opportunities for healthcare providers to practice medicine globally.

 

L Muscato

Louise Muscato, MEd, CHES, PhD
Course Director
Assistant Dean for Medical Education, COMP-Northwest
lmuscato@westernu.edu

Clinton E. Adams, DO, MPA, FACHE
Vice Course Director
Professor of Family Medicine, COMP
cadams@westernu.edu


Contemporary Health Care Issues and Health Policy

Click here to view the objectives, content, and learning outcomes of this section


Lifestyle Medicine

Click here to view the objectives, content, and learning outcomes of this section

 

Charles Ross, DO, FACOEP
Section Lead
Medical Director, Emergency Department, Samaritan Lebanon Community Hospital
cataniaross@msn.com

D Redding

David Redding, DO
Associate Professor, Department of NMM/OMM and Family Medicine, COMP
dredding@westernu.edu

M Fraix

Marcel Fraix, DO, FAAPMR
Chair and Assistant Professor, Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation, COMP
mfraix@westernu.edu

S White

Stephanie White, DO
Assistant Dean of Clinical Education, COMP
swhite@westernu.edu


Medical Jurisprudence

Click here to view the objectives, content, and learning outcomes of this section

D Boysen

Doug Boysen, JD
General Counsel and Vice President of Human Resources, Samaritan Health Services
dboysen@samhealth.org


Disaster Preparedness

Click here to view the objectives, content, and learning outcomes of this section

J Bell

James W. Bell, PA, EdD
Section Lead
Director, Standardized Patient Program, COMP-Northwest
jwbell@westernu.edu

Susan Mackintosh, DO, MPH 
Associate Dean of Academic Affairs, COMP
smackintosh@westernu.edu


Global Health

Click here to view the objectives, content, and learning outcomes of this section

 

C Storniolo

Cosimo Storniolo, MD
Section Lead
Internal Medicine, Samaritan Health Services
cstorniolo@hotmail.com

Marie Long

Marie Long, MD
Chief Division of Neurosurgery
Good Samaritan Regional Medical Center
marie.l@globalnutritionempowerment.org

I Tuason

Ivy C. Tuason, RN, MSN, FNP
Associate Professor, Assistant Director of MSN-E Program, CGN
ituason@westernu.edu

R Kammer

Rebecca Kammer, OD
Adjunct Faculty, Dept. of Social Medicine, COMP
rkammer@lowvisionu.com