Western University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific Western University of Health Sciences
College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific

Faculty

The Department of Medical Anatomical Sciences is currently chaired by Dr. James May. COMP faculty and staff involved in teaching the Anatomy courses in WesternU's Osteopathic Medicine curriculum are listed here with their contact information. For additional background information on selected faculty and staff, click on the name.

James May
Chair & Professor of Anatomy
COMP-Pomona
PhD, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, 1974
jfmay@westernu.edu

William Merbs
Vice-Chair & Instructor of Anatomy
COMP-Northwest
wmerbs@westernu.edu

 

Mohammed Al-Tikriti
Associate Professor of Anatomy
COMP-Pomona
PhD, University of Tennessee, 1988
mal-tikriti@westernu.edu

 

Gerald Bales
Associate Professor of Anatomy
COMP-Pomona
PhD, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, 1995
gbales@westernu.edu

Brion Benninger, MD, MSc

Brion Benninger, MD, MSc
Professor of Anatomy
COMP-Northwest
bbenninger@westernu.edu

Gerald Bertetta
Instructor of Anatomy
COMP-Pomona
MA, San Francisco State University, San Francisco, CA, 1978
gbertetta@westernu.edu

Amy Chew
Assistant Professor of Anatomy
COMP-Pomona
PhD, John Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD, 2005
achew@westernu.edu

Michelle Hovorka, M.S.
Instructor of Anatomy
COMP-Northwest 
mhovorka@westernu.edu

Brian Kraatz
Assistant Professor of Anatomy
COMP-Pomona
PhD, University of California, Berkeley, CA, 2007
bkraatz@westernu.edu

Craig Kuehn
Professor of Anatomy
COMP-Pomona
PhD, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA, 1987
ckuehn@westernu.edu

Elizabeth Rega
Associate Vice Provost for Academic Development/Academic Affairs
Associate Professor of Anatomy
COMP-Pomona
PhD, University of Chicago, Chicago, IL, 1995
erega@westernu.edu

Marian Safaoui
Assistant Professor of Anatomy
COMP-Pomona
MD, University of Southern California, Los Angeles, CA 1999
msafaoui@westernu.edu

Richard Sugerman
Professor of Anatomy
COMP-Pomona
PhD, University of New Mexico, 1975
rsugerman@westernu.edu

Mathew Wedel
Assistant Professor of Anatomy
COMP-Pomona
PhD, University of California, Berkeley, CA, 2007
mwedel@westernu.edu

Vicki Wedel
Assistant Professor of Anatomy
COMP-Pomona
PhD, University of California, Santa Cruz, CA, 2006
vwedel@westernu.edu

Rafi Younoszai
Professor of Anatomy(Emeritus)&Social Medicine-COMP
Director-Center of Global & Community Health-WU
COMP-Pomona
PhD, University of Minnesota, Minneapolis, MN, 1971
ryounoszai@westernu.edu

Support Staff

Kelly Mack
Administrative Associate for Anatomy
COMP-Pomona
(909)469-5310
kmack@westernu.edu

Monica Guerrero

Monica Guerrero
Administrative Assistant for Anatomy
COMP-Northwest
(541)259-0305
mguerrero@westernu.edu