Western University of Health Sciences [Old] College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific Western University of Health Sciences
[Old] College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific

Basic Medical Sciences

The Department of Basic Medical Sciences is chaired by Dr. Nissar A. Darmani. COMP faculty and staff responsible for the Basic Medical Science portion of WesternU’s Doctor of Osteopathic Medicine curriculum are listed here with their contact information. For additional background information on selected faculty and staff, click on the name.

 

N Darmani

Nissar A. Darmani, PhD
Associate Dean for Basic Sciences and Research
Chair, Basic Medical Sciences
COMP-Pomona
ndarmani@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5654
Lab#: (909) 469-5218

 

P Brownell

Phillip Brownell, PhD
Vice Chair, Basic Medical Sciences
Professor of Physiology
COMP-Northwest
pbrownell@westernu.edu
Office#: (541) 259-0228

 

R Kandpal

Raj P. Kandpal, PhD
Interim Assistant Chair of BMS
Associate Professor of Biochemistry
COMP-Pomona
rkandpal@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 706-3520
Lab#: (909) 706-3533

 

Xiaoning Bi, PhD
Professor of Physiology
COMP-Pomona
xbi@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5487
Lab#: (909) 469-5471

 

Mihai Covasa, PhD
Associate Professor of Physiology
COMP-Pomona
mcovasa@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-8215
Lab#: (909) 469-8291

 

Douglas W. Ethell, PhD
Associate Professor of Molecular and Neurobiology
COMP-Pomona
dethell@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-3491
Lab#: (909) 706-3496

 

Jeffrey Felton, PhD
Professor of Microbiology
COMP-Pomona
jfelton@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5226

 

Duane Foley, PhD
Professor of Physiology
COMP-Pomona
dfoley@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5221

 

Sebastien Fuchs, MD, PhD
Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
COMP-Pomona
sfuchs@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5232

 

Steven J. Henriksen, Ph.D
Professor of Pharmacology
COMP-Pomona
shenriksen@westernu.edu
(909) 469-5299

 

M Issar

Manish Issar, PhD
Assistant Professor of Pharmacology
COMP-Pomona
missar@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 706-3752

 

Glen Kisby, PhD

Glen Kisby, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacology
COMP-Northwest 
gkisby@westernu.edu
Office#: (541) 259-0217

 

Pen-Jen Lin, PhD

Pen-Jen Lin, PhD
Assistant Professor
COMP-Pomona
plin@westernu.edu

 

J Martin

James Martin, Dr.rer.nat.
Professor of Physiology and Behavioral Sciences
COMP-Pomona
jmartin@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5229

 

John Mata, PhD

John Mata, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacology
COMP-Northwest 
jmata@westernu.edu
Office#: (541) 259-0231

 

Katherine Mitsouras, PhD
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry
COMP-Pomona
kmitsouras@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 706-3484

 

R Pechnick

Robert N. Pechnick, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology
COMP-Pomona
rpechnick@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-8669
Lab#: TBA

 

Beatrice Saviola, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology
COMP-Pomona
bsaviola@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5373
Lab#: 469-5436

 

Thomas Squire, PhD

Thomas Squier, PhD
Professor of Biochemistry
COMP-Northwest
tsquier@westernu.edu
Office#: (541) 259-0230

 

Michelle Steinauer

Michelle Steinauer, PhD
Assistant Professor of Microbiology
COMP-Northwest 
msteinauer@westernu.edu

 

Colleen Talbot, PhD
Professor of Physiology
COMP-Pomona
ctalbot@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-8221

 

 

G Thrush

Gerald R. Thrush, PhD
Associate Dean of Pre-Clinical Education
Professor of Immunology
COMP-Pomona
gthrush@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5374

 

Vishwanath Venketaraman, PhD
Associate Professor of Microbiology/Immunology
COMP-Pomona
vvenketaraman@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 706-3736
Lab#: (909) 469-6621

 

Edward Wagner, PhD
Professor of Physiology
COMP-Pomona
ewagner@westernu.edu
Office/Lab#: (909) 469-5239

 

Donald Walters, PhD
Associate Professor of Pharmacology
COMP-Pomona
dewalters@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-5592

 

Stanley Wong, PhD
Professor of Pharmacology (Emeritus)
COMP-Pomona
swong@westernu.edu
HPC# 2257

 

Li Zhong, PhD
Associate Professor of Physiology
COMP-Pomona
lzhong@westernu.edu
Office#: (909) 469-8220
Lab#: (909) 469-8236

 

Support Staff

 

Nona Williamson
Administrative Associate for the Assistant Dean and Basic Medical Sciences
COMP-Pomona
(909) 469-5595
nwilliamson@westernu.edu
Fax: (909) 469-5698

Kristine King
Administrative Assistant for BMS
COMP-Pomona
(909) 706-3483
kking@westernu.edu

Amber Mathieu

Amber Mathieu
Administrative Assistant for BMS
COMP-Pomona
(909) 469-8668
amathieu@westernu.edu

Katie Zeiner
Research Coordinator
COMP-Northwest 
kzeiner@westernu.edu

Monica Guerrero

Monica Guerrero
Administrative Assistant
COMP-Northwest
(541)259-0305
mguerrero@westernu.edu