University Financial Services & Treasury Staff

 

 

Location: University Financial Services & Treasury is located in the Anderson Tower, 4th floor
Address: Western University of Health Sciences
100 W. Second St., 4th Floor
Pomona, CA 91766-1854
Telephone: (909) 469-5210
Fax: (909) 469-5506
Office Hours: 8:00 AM – 5:00 PM, Monday-Friday

Staff:

Office of the Chief Financial Officer (CFO)/Treasurer 

Joshua McFarlen, CPA, CA, MPAcc, Interim Chief Financial Officer and Treasurer
(909) 469-5696
jmcfarlen@westernu.edu
Administrative control of University fiscal budget and finances.

Raquel Borges, Director for Finance Operations/Project Management
(909) 469-5288
rborges@westernu.edu
Assists CFO/Treasurer, secondary point of contact.

Maria Sapien, Administrative Associate II
(909) 469-5210
msapien@westernu.edu
Primary point of contact for the CFO/Treasurer, credit cards, and petty cash.


Budget Office

Katherine Jimenez, Ed.D,MBA, Associate Vice President for Finance and Budget Administration
(909) 469-5490
kjimenez@westernu.edu
Budget development, planning and management.

Monique Cano, Budget Associate II
(909) 469-5411
mcano@westernu.edu
Provides support to the Associate Vice President for Finance and Budget Administration, along with the Budget Office team.

Patrick Mendoza, Assistant Director for Finance and Budget Administration
(909) 469-5499
pmendoza@westernu.edu
Provides financial reporting and analysis of institutional budgets, cost analysis, and interpretation of various financial data.

Alan Cho, Budget Analyst II
(909) 469-5488
alancho@westernu.edu
Provides financial reporting and analysis of institutional budgets, cost analysis, and interpretation of various financial data.


Risk Management

Chique Magsino, Director of Risk Management
(909) 469-5452
cmagsino@westernu.edu


Accounting and Fiscal Operations

Christopher Crow, University Controller
(909) 469-5409
ccrow@westernu.edu
Management of general accounting, including: accounts payable, payroll operations, accounting policies and procedures, financial information and controls, and auditing. 

Perry Self, CPA – Assistant Controller
(909) 469-5267
pself@westernu.edu
Accounting and compliance functions that includes preparation of financial information, researching, auditing, monitoring, etc. 

Vacant, Financial Accountant
(909) 706-3514

Account analysis and full review of general ledger, bank & investment reconciliations, and tax filings. 

Ruth McGuire, Accounting Associate
(909) 469-5463
rmcguire@westernu.edu
Accounting support for the finance and general accounting areas. 

Susanne Hastings, Accounting Clerk
(909) 469-5363
shastings@westernu.edu
Administrative and accounting support in Accounts Payable, Payroll, Bursar’s Office, and the Finance and General Accounting areas.

Finance General Inquiries: finance@westernu.edu


Accounts Payable Department

Alexander Berger, Assistant Vice President for Finance
(909) 706-3801
aberger@westernu.edu
Administering accounts payable functions that include day-to-day operational performance metrics. 

Elizabeth Savolt, Accounts Payable Assistant
(909) 469-5688
esavolt@westernu.edu
Accounts payable processing of purchase order invoices. 

Jennifer Cherry, Accounts Payable Assistant
(909) 469-5405
jcherry@westernu.edu
Accounts Payable processing of payment requisitions.

Irma Sampson, Accounts Payable Specialist
(909) 469-8284
isampson@westernu.edu
Accounts payable administration, travel, and University credit cards. 

Accounts Payable General Inquiries: ap@westernu.edu 


Payroll Department

Alexander Berger, Assistant Vice President for Finance
(909) 706-3801
aberger@westernu.edu
Payroll & Tax processing, business process improvements. 

Cynthia Gonzales, Payroll Manager
(909) 469-5443
gonzalesc@westernu.edu
Payroll & Tax processing, account reconciliations and accounting.

Teresa Hidalgo, Payroll Clerk
(909) 469-8262
thidalgo@westernu.edu
Payroll & Tax processing, account reconciliations.

Payroll General Inquiries: payroll@westernu.edu 


Revenues

Alexander Berger, Assistant Vice President for Finance
(909) 706-3801
aberger@westernu.edu

Tanesha Wells Ed. D, Director of Revenues
(909) 469-8756
twells@westernu.edu 

Bursar

Michael Smith, Bursar
(909) 469-5403
michaelsmith@westernu.edu

Katie Pinto, Assistant Bursar                                                                                                                                                                                                                    (909) 469-5404                                                                                                                                                                                                                                        kpinto@westernu.edu 

Student Accounts

Michelle Coiro, Student Accounts Manager
(909) 469-5573                                                        mcoiro@westernu.edu

Jane Jang, Accounting Analyst
(909) 469-8467                       jjang@westernu.edu