The College of Graduate Nursing is under the leadership of Dean Mary Lopez, PhD, RN. Other members of the College’s faculty and administrative staff are listed here with their contact information. For additional background information on selected faculty and staff, click on the name.

Faculty and Administration

Portrait of Khoa (Joey) Dang, DNP, APRN-CNP, FNP-C

Khoa (Joey) Dang, DNP, APRN-CNP, FNP-C

Director, FNP Program, Assistant Professor

kadang@westernu.edu

Portrait of Matthew (Matt) Durkin, EdD

Matthew (Matt) Durkin, EdD

Director of Assessment and Educational Effectiveness, Assistant Professor

mdurkin@westernu.edu

Portrait of Donna Emanuele, DNP, RN, FNP-BC, CNS, FAANP

Donna Emanuele, DNP, RN, FNP-BC, CNS, FAANP

Director, DNP Program | ENP Post-Graduate Certificate, Associate Professor

demanuele@westernu.edu

Portrait of Rodney (Rod) Hicks, PhD, RN, FAANP, FAAN

Rodney (Rod) Hicks, PhD, RN, FAANP, FAAN

Professor, Assistant Dean of Administration and Research

rhicks@westernu.edu

Portrait of Marci Luxenburg-Horowitz, DNP, RN, CNL

Marci Luxenburg-Horowitz, DNP, RN, CNL

Director, Health Systems Leadership MSN Program, Assistant Professor

mhorowitz@westernu.edu

Portrait of Michael Marinello, MSN, RN

Michael Marinello, MSN, RN

Assistant Professor, Simulation Center Co-Coordinator

mmarinello@westernu.edu

Portrait of Gwendelyn (Gwen) S. Orozco, PhD, MSN.Ed, RNC-OB

Gwendelyn (Gwen) S. Orozco, PhD, MSN.Ed, RNC-OB

Assistant Director, MSN-Entry Program, Assistant Professor

gorozco@westernu.edu

Portrait of Patricia (Patti) Shakhshir, PhD, CNS, RN-BC

Patricia (Patti) Shakhshir, PhD, CNS, RN-BC

Director, MSN-Entry Program, Associate Professor

pshakhshir@westernu.edu

Portrait of Dawn Stone, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, COHN-S

Dawn Stone, PhD, RN, ANP-BC, COHN-S

Director, MSN Program and Ambulatory Care Track, Associate Professor

dstone@westernu.edu

Administrative Staff 

Portrait of Amber Alvarado

Amber Alvarado

Administrative Assistant III

aalvarado@westernu.edu

Portrait of Eva Badouin, MS

Eva Badouin, MS

Director of Student Services

ebadouin@westernu.edu

Portrait of Jennifer (Jenny) Castro

Jennifer (Jenny) Castro

Manager of Clinical Affiliations, FNP Program Administrator

jlcastro@westernu.edu

WesternU Seal - Default Image

Christopher (Chris) Ceja

Simulation Center Technician

cceja@westernu.edu

Portrait of Lila Harada, BS

Lila Harada, BS

Operations Associate

lthi@westernu.edu

Portrait of Mitzi McKay, MFA

Mitzi McKay, MFA

Assistant Dean of Student Affairs

mmckay@westernu.edu

Portrait of Kelley Montz, MA

Kelley Montz, MA

Manager, DNP Program

kmontz@westernu.edu