Home

College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific

Clinical Education

Welcome to the Department of Clinical Education

We are available to assist all Clinical Faculty, Preceptors and Students with rotations scheduling and questions. Please do not hesitate to contact us.

 

Portrait of Natalie Nevins, DO, MSHPE Portrait of Marisa Orser, M.Ed Portrait of Katherine Fisher, DO Portrait of Kim Ketcham

Natalie Nevins, DO, MSHPE
Assistant Dean for Clinical Education
Pomona Campus
nnevins@westernu.edu
Preceptor Welcome Video

Marisa Orser, M.Ed
Associate Director
of Clinical Education
Pomona Campus
morser@westernu.edu

Katherine Fisher, DO
Director of Clinical Education
Lebanon Campus
kfisher@westernu.edu
Preceptor Information Video

Kim Ketcham
Assistant Director of Clinical Education
Lebanon Campus
kketchum@westernu.edu


Clinical Chairs Contact Information
and Orientation Videos

Anita Nelson, MD
Chair & Professor of OB/GYN
COMP-Pomona
nelsona@westernu.edu
OB/GYN Preceptor Information Video

Dat Q. Trinh, DO, MSHPE
Chair & Associate Professor of Family Medicine
COMP-Pomona
dtrinh@westernu.edu
Family Medicine Preceptor Information Video

Vivian Davis, DO
Chair & Associate Professor of Surgery
COMP-Pomona
vdavis@westernu.edu
Surgery Preceptor Information Video

Rebecca Giusti, DO
COMP-Pomona
Chair & Associate Professor of NMM/OMM
rgiusti@westernu.edu
NMM/OMM Preceptor Information Video

Yadi Fernandez-Sweeny, PsyD, MS
Chair & Associate Professor of Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry
Behavior Medicine and Psychiatry Program Director
COMP-Pomona
yfernandez-sweeny@westernu.edu
Psychiatry Preceptor Information Video

Emmanuel Katsaros, DO, FACR
Chair and Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
COMP-Pomona
ekatsaros@westernu.edu
Internal Medicine Preceptor Information Video

Elisabeth Guenther, MD, MPH
Chair & Associate Professor of Pediatrics
COMP-Northwest
eguenther@westernu.edu
Pediatrics Preceptor Information Video

Rotations Syllabi

 

Cardiology Clerkship

Child Neurology Elective

Dermatology

Emergency Medicine

Endocrinology Clerkship

Family Medicine

Infectious Disease Clerkship

Internal Medicine

Internal Medicine/Gastroenterology Clerkship

Internal Medicine/Pulmonary Clerkship

Nephrology Clerkship

Neurology (Elective Adult)

NMM/OMM

OB/Gyn

Orthopedics Elective

Pathology Clerkship

Pediatrics

Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Psychiatry

Radiology

Rheumatology Clerkship

Sports Medicine Elective

Surgery

 

 

External Resources

American Osteopathic Association (AOA)

Annals of Family Medicine

National Board of Osteopathic Medical Examiners (NBOME)

Medical Student Preceptors: Overview of Appraisal

A.T. Still Univ:Training MDs to supervise DO students performing OMM

AACOM: Introduction to Osteopathic Medicine for Non-DO Faculty –What makes Osteopathic Education Different?

Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM) Journals

Society of Teachers of Family Medicine Newsletters

teachingphysician.org