Home

College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific

Internal Medicine

Welcome

Our mission is to provide students with a strong foundation in the curriculum of internal medicine and prepare them to become lifelong learners while serving their communities and practicing osteopathic medicine in an evidence-based compassionate manner. Our vision is be the leader in osteopathic internal medicine education by developing and delivering an innovative and integrated curriculum across the continuum of physician training. We are dedicated to being mentors and role models in the areas of research, patient care and community outreach.


Curriculum

The faculty in the Department of Internal Medicine is actively involved in the education of our osteopathic students from the first year in which they begin to learn the fundamentals of internal medicine. Our faculty has key roles in teaching and design of the systems courses including Introduction to Disease , Immunity and Therapeutics, Blood and Lymphatics, Musculoskeletal System, Endocrine System, Cardiovascular System, Renal System, Respiratory system, and Gastrointestinal system and Nutrition, see student handbook (page 43). We also provide a structured curriculum for the third and fourth-year students while they are in their internal medicine clerkships. COMP requires twelve weeks on an internal medicine clerkship in a student’s third year and a four week sub-internship in their fourth year.


Faculty & Staff

Portrait of Emmanuel Katsaros, DO, FACR

Emmanuel Katsaros, DO, FACR

Chair and Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
COMP-Pomona

ekatsaros@westernu.edu

Portrait of Nishita Patel, MD, FACP

Nishita Patel, MD, FACP

Vice-Chair and Associate Professor of Internal Medicine/Infectious Disease
COMP-Pomona

npatel2@westernu.edu

Portrait of Paul Aversano, DO

Paul Aversano, DO

Clinical Professor of Internal Medicine/Neurology
Government Relations
COMP-Northwest

paversano@westernu.edu

Portrait of Edward V. Barnes II, MD, FACP

Edward V. Barnes II, MD, FACP

Associate Dean, Academic Innovation
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
Chief, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension
COMP-Pomona

ebarnes@westernu.edu

WesternU Seal - Default Image

Adam M. Dost, DO, MPH

Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
COMP-Pomona

dosta@westernu.edu

WesternU Seal - Default Image

Leonard A. Mankin, MD, FACP


Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
COMP-Northwest

lmankin@westernu.edu

Portrait of Katrina Platt, DO

Katrina Platt, DO

Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine
COMP-Pomona

kplatt@westernu.edu

Portrait of Andrew S. Pumerantz, DO, FACP

Andrew S. Pumerantz, DO, FACP

Professor of Internal Medicine
Director, Department of Population Health
COMP-Pomona

apumerantz@westernu.edu

Portrait of Airani Sathananthan, MD

Airani Sathananthan, MD

Professor of Internal Medicine
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism
COMP-Pomona

asathananthan@westernu.edu

WesternU Seal - Default Image

Joel Trambley, MD, PhD

Program Director, Internal Medicine
COMP-Pomona

jtrambley@westernu.edu

 

SUPPORT STAFF

WesternU Seal - Default Image

Omar Castañeda

Administrative Associate
COMP-Pomona

ocastaneda@westernu.edu