Home

College of Veterinary Medicine

CVM Faculty

The College of Veterinary Medicine is currently under the leadership of Dean Phillip Nelson, DVM, PhD. Other members of the College’s faculty and administrative staff are listed here with their contact information. For additional background information on selected faculty and staff, click on the name.

FACULTY

Portrait of Ana Alcaraz DVM, PhD, DACVP

Ana Alcaraz DVM, PhD, DACVP

Professor
Anatomic Pathology

DVM, Universidad Nacional Autonoma De Mexico, Mexico City, Mexico 1987
Residency in Veterinary Pathology, Cornell University 1991
PhD, Veterinary Medicine, Cornell University, Ithaca NY 1998

aalcaraz@westernu.edu

WesternU Seal- Default Image

Randall Anderson, DVM, MPVM

Intructor
Clinical Field Liason, Food Animal Medicine/Dairy

DVM, UC Davis, Davis, CA 1993
MPVM, UC Davis, Davis, CA 1993

rjanderson@westernu.edu

Portrait of  Margaret C. (Peggy) Barr, DVM, PhD

Margaret C. (Peggy) Barr, DVM, PhD

Professor, Director Year Three
Virology & Immunology

DVM, Auburn University, Auburn, AL 1984
PhD, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 1992

pbarr@westernu.edu

Portrait of  Joseph J. Bertone, DVM, MS, DACVIM

Joseph J. Bertone, DVM, MS, DACVIM

Professor
Equine Medicine

DVM, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY 1983
MS, Veterinary Clinical Sciences, Colorado State University, Fort Collins, CO 1987

jbertone@westernu.edu

Portrait of Frank Bossong, BS, DVM

Frank Bossong, BS, DVM

Assistant Professor

BS in Architecture, University of Virginia, 1988
DVM, College of Veterinary Medicine, University of Georgia, 2001

fbossong@westernu.edu

Portrait of  Elizabeth P. Boynton, DVM

Elizabeth P. Boynton, DVM

Professor
Wellness

DVM, University of Minnesota, St. Paul, MN 1980

bboynton@westernu.edu

Portrait of  Greg Brennan, DVM, PhD

Greg Brennan, DVM, PhD

Assistant Professor
Virology and host-virus interactions

DVM, Colorado State University, 2003
PhD, University of Washington, 2008

gbrennan@westernu.edu

Portrait of Jennifer Buur, DVM, DACVCP, PhD

Jennifer Buur, DVM, DACVCP, PhD

Associate Professor
Comparative Pharmacokinetics

DVM, University of Wisconsin – Madison, WI 1999
Diplomate, American College of Veterinary Clinical Pharmacology, 2006
PhD, Comparative Biomedical Sciences, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC 2007

jbuur@westernu.edu

Portrait of Betsy Charles, DVM, MA

Betsy Charles, DVM, MA

Assistant Professor
Radiology, Equine Practice, Leadership

DVM, Washington State University, Pullman, WA 2003
MA, Biola University, La Mirada, CA 2009

echarles@westernu.edu

Portrait of David Clark, DVM

David Clark, DVM

WesternU Pet Health Center

dclark@westernu.edu

Portrait of  Wendell J. Cole, DVM, DACT Theriogenology

Wendell J. Cole, DVM, DACT Theriogenology

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Professor
Theriogenology

DVM, Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio 1979

wcole@westernu.edu

Portrait of  Ellen Collisson, PhD

Ellen Collisson, PhD

Professor
Microbiology

MS, University of Alabama, Birmingham, AL 1978
PhD, University of Alabama, Birmingham, AL 1980
Professor Emeriti, Texas A&M University, 2007

ecollisson@westernu.edu

Portrait of  Maisie Dawes, DVM, PhD, DACVIM

Maisie Dawes, DVM, PhD, DACVIM

Assistant Professor
Immunology, Large Animal Internal Medicine

PhD, Pathobiology, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO 2006
DVM, Tuskegee University, Tuskegee, AL 1999

mdawes@westernu.edu

Portrait of Pedro Paulo V. P. Diniz, DVM, PhD

Pedro Paulo V. P. Diniz, DVM, PhD

Associate Professor
Small Animal Internal Medicine

DVM, São Paulo State University, College of Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine (Unesp – FCAV), Jaboticabal, SP, Brazil, 1999
Internship certificate, Veterinary Cardiology, École Nationale Vétérinaire d’Alfort, Paris, France, 1999
Residency certificate, Small Animal Internal Medicine, São Paulo State University, College of Agriculture and Veterinary Medicine (Unesp – FCAV), Jaboticabal, SP, Brazil, 2002
PhD, Clinical Sciences, São Paulo State Univertsity, College of Veterinary Medicine and Animal Sciences (Unesp – FMVZ), Botucatu, SP, Brazil, 2006
Postdoctoral research, Microbiology, North Carolina State University, College of Veterinary Medicine, Raleigh, NC, 2009

pdiniz@westernu.edu

Portrait of Yvonne Drechsler, Dipl.Biol (eq MS), PhD

Yvonne Drechsler, Dipl.Biol (eq MS), PhD

Associate Professor
Immunology and Virology

University of Tübingen, Germany

ydrechsler@westernu.edu

Portrait of Curtis Eng, DVM

Curtis Eng, DVM

Associate Professor
Clinical Rotations

DVM, Purdue University 1988

ceng@westernu.edu

Portrait of Helen Engelke, BVSc, MPVM, DACVPM, MRCVS

Helen Engelke, BVSc, MPVM, DACVPM, MRCVS

Assistant Professor
Veterinary Public Health

BVSc, University of Liverpool, United Kingdom 1990
MPVM, University of California, Davis, CA 1994
Diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Preventive Medicine, 2011

hengelke@westernu.edu

Portrait of David Forster, Bvet Med, Ma ICS

David Forster, Bvet Med, Ma ICS

Assistant Professor

Royal Veterinary College (RVC) London University, 1988

dforster@westernu.edu

Portrait of Paul Gordon-Ross, MS, DVM

Paul Gordon-Ross, MS, DVM

Associate Professor, Director of Clinical Relations

MS, University of California, Davis, CA 1995
DVM, University of California, Davis, CA 1999

pgordon@westernu.edu

Portrait of Christine Tindal Green, BVSc, MRCVS

Christine Tindal Green, BVSc, MRCVS

Associate Professor
Small Animal Medicine & Surgery

BVSc, University of Sydney, Sydney, Australia 1992
Certificate of Veterinary Opthamology, Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons, UK 2000

cgreen@westernu.edu

Portrait of Dominique Griffon, DMV, MS, PhD, DECVS, DACVS

Dominique Griffon, DMV, MS, PhD, DECVS, DACVS

Professor, Associate Dean for Research
Small Animal Surgery

DMV, Ecole National Veterinaire Alfort, France 1989
MS, University of Minnesota, USA 1992
DECVS, European College of Veterinary Surgeons 1996
DACVS, American College of Veterinary Surgeons 1997
PhD, University of Helsinki, Finland 2002

dgriffon@westernu.edu

Portrait of Spring Halland DVM, CVA, DACVIM

Spring Halland DVM, CVA, DACVIM

Assistant Professor
Large Animal Internal Medicine, Veterinary Acupuncture

DVM, University of Minnesota 1997
Intership certificate, Rotating LA med & sx, University of Tennessee, 1998
Residency certificate, Large Animal Internal Medicine, UC-Davis 2001
Certified Veterinary Acupuncturist, Chi Institue of TCVM, Florida, 2008

shalland@westernu.edu

Portrait of Jijun Hao, PhD

Jijun Hao, PhD

Assistant Professor
Stem Cell Biology

BS, Biochemical Engineering, East China University of Science and Technology, Shanghai, China, 1996
PhD, Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, University of Leeds, Leeds, UK, 2003

jhao@westernu.edu

Portrait of Martina Haupt, DVM

Martina Haupt, DVM

Instructor
Clinical Field Liason

DVM, Justus Liebig University, Giessen, Germany 1989

mbeecher@westernu.edu

Portrait of Zarah Hedge, DVM, MPH, DACVPM

Zarah Hedge, DVM, MPH, DACVPM

Assistant Professor
Shelter Medicine

DVM, Western University of Health Sciences College of Veterinary Medicine 2009
Shelter Medicine Residency, Oregon Humane Society 2013
MPH, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities 2013
Diplomate of the American College of Veterinary Preventative Medicine, 2014

zhedge@westernu.edu

Portrait of Yiling Hong, PhD

Yiling Hong, PhD

Associate Professor
Stem Cell Biology and Nanotoxicity

B. Sci. Biology, Xiamen University, Xiamen, Fujian, China, 1984
M. Sci. Molecular Biology & Genetics, Xiamen University, Xiamen, Fujian, China, 1987
PhD, Molecular and Cellular Biology, University of Kentucky, Kentucky, USA, 1997

yhong@westernu.edu

Portrait of Kristopher Irizarry, PhD

Kristopher Irizarry, PhD

Associate Professor
Bioinformatics, Genetics, Genomics

PhD, Biochemistry & Molecular Biology, UCLA, Los Angeles, CA 2002

kirizarry@westernu.edu

Portrait of Janis Joslin, DVM

Janis Joslin, DVM

Professor
Primate, Zoo and Wildlife Medicine

DVM, The Ohio State College of Veterinary Medicine 1975
Residency, Primate Medicine, UC Davis 1978

jjoslin@westernu.edu

Portrait of Malika Kachani, PhD, DVM

Malika Kachani, PhD, DVM

Professor
Parasitology

PhD, Parasitology, Brunel University, London, UK 1990
DVM, Institut Agronomique et Veterinaire Hassan II, Rabat, Morocco 1992

mkachani@westernu.edu

Portrait of  Gagandeep Kaur, DVM, PhD

Gagandeep Kaur, DVM, PhD

Assistant Professor
Physiology

B.V.Sc & A.H, Punjab Agricultural University, India, 2005
DVM, ECFVG, 2009
Ph.D, Kent State University, Kent, 2009

gkaur@westernu.edu

Portrait of David C. Kersey, PhD

David C. Kersey, PhD

Associate Professor
Physiology

Ph.D. George Mason University, Fairfax, VA 2009

dkersey@westernu.edu

Portrait of  Wael A. Khamas, BVM&S, MS, PhD

Wael A. Khamas, BVM&S, MS, PhD

Professor, Director Year One
Anatomy & Histology

BVM&S, University of Baghdad 1973
MS Veterinary Anatomy, Iowa State University 1980
PhD, Veterinary Anatomy, Iowa State University 1983

wkhamas@westernu.edu

Portrait of  Linda B. Kidd, DVM, PhD, DACVIM

Linda B. Kidd, DVM, PhD, DACVIM

Associate Professor
Small Animal Internal Medicine, Course Leader CORE Internal Medicine

DVM, University of Wisconsin 1991
Diplomate, American College of Veterinary Internal Medicine, University of Wisconsin 2000
PhD North Carolina State University 2006

lkidd@westernu.edu

Portrait of Suzie J. Kovacs, MSc, PhD

Suzie J. Kovacs, MSc, PhD

Assistant Professor
Epidemiology

BSc Honours Biological Science, University of Guelph, Guelph, Ontario, Canada 1999
MSc in Epidemiology, Ontario Veterinary College, University of Guelph, Guelph, Ontario, Canada 2004
PhD in Education, Claremont Graduate University, Claremont CA 2014

skovacs@westernu.edu

Portrait of Lyon Lee, DVM, PhD, DACVA

Lyon Lee, DVM, PhD, DACVA

Professor
Anesthesiology

DVM, Seoul National University, Korea 1989
PhD, Veterinary Anesthesia, Royal Veterinary College, University of London 1997
Residency, Veterinary Anesthesia, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, IL 2000

llyon@westernu.edu

Portrait of Ohad Levi, DVM

Ohad Levi, DVM

Associate ProfessorEquine Surgery
Equine Surgery

DVM, Veterinary Medicine, University of Turin, Italy 1989
Equine medicine and surgery specialty certificate, Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel 2001
Equine Surgery Residency Certificate, University of California, Davis, CA 2010

olevi@westernu.edu

Portrait of Diane McClure, DVM, PhD, DACLAM

Diane McClure, DVM, PhD, DACLAM

Associate Professor
Laboratory Animal Medicine

PhD, Physiology, University of California, Davis, CA 1988
DVM, Zoological Medicine, University of California, Davis, CA 1990
Residency Certificate in Clinical Laboratory Animal Medicine, University of California, Davis, CA 1993
Diplomate, American College of Laboratory Animal Medicine 1995

dmcclure@westernu.edu

Portrait of Tracey McNamara, DVM, DACVP

Tracey McNamara, DVM, DACVP

Professor
Pathology

DVM, New York State College of Veterinary Medicine, Cornell University, Ithaca NY – 1982
Residency, Comparative Pathology, Animal Medical Center, Wildlife Conservation Society, Bronx, NY 1988

tmcnamara@westernu.edu

Portrait of Mohammad Mir, PhD

Mohammad Mir, PhD

Associate Professor
Virology

PhD, Biophysics and Structural Biology, Saha Institute of Nuclear Physics- Department of Atomic Energy of India, 2003

mmir@westernu.edu

Portrait of  Teresa Y. Morishita, DVM, MPVM, MS, PhD, DACPV

Teresa Y. Morishita, DVM, MPVM, MS, PhD, DACPV

Professor
Poultry Medicine & Food Safety

MS, Animal Science, University of Hawaii-Manoa, Honolulu, HI 1985
DVM, Master of Preventative Medicine, University of California, Davis, CA 1989
Residency Certificate in Clinical Avian/Poultry Medicine, University of California, Davis, CA 1991
PhD, Veterinary Pathology, University of California, Davis, CA 1995

tmorishita@westernu.edu

Portrait of Phillip D. Nelson, DVM, BS, PhD

Phillip D. Nelson, DVM, BS, PhD

Dean, Professor of Immunology

DVM, Tuskegee Institute, Tuskegee, AL 1979
B.S. Biology; Jackson State University, Jackson, Mississippi 1980
PhD, North Carolina State University, Raleigh, NC 1993

pnelson@westernu.edu

Portrait of Ken C. Noriega, BA, MS

Ken C. Noriega, BA, MS

Instructor
Veterinary Anatomy

BA, Biology, Pitzer College, Claremont, CA 2000

knoriega@westernu.edu

Portrait of Brian Oakley, PhD

Brian Oakley, PhD

Associate Professor
Microbial Ecology

PhD, University of Washington, WA 2003

boakley@westernu.edu

Portrait of Jose Peralta, DVM, MSc, PhD

Jose Peralta, DVM, MSc, PhD

Associate Professor
Veterinary Ethics, Animal Welfare

DVM, University of Zaragoza, Spain, 1988
MSc, Animal Science, Cornell University, 1994
PhD, Animal Science, Cornell University, 1997

jperalta@westernu.edu

Portrait of Tom R. Phillips, DVM, PhD

Tom R. Phillips, DVM, PhD

Professor
Virology & Immunology

DVM Veterinary Medicine, University of Missouri, Columbia, MO 1978
MS, Immunology, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI 1985
PhD, Immunology-Virology, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI 1989

tphillips@westernu.edu

Portrait of Josep Rutllant-Labeaga, DVM, PhD

Josep Rutllant-Labeaga, DVM, PhD

Professor, Director Year Two
Anatomy

DVM, Autonomous University of Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain 1990
PhD, Autonomous University of Barcelona, Barcelona, Spain 1997

jrutllant@westernu.edu

Portrait of Miguel D. Saggese, DVM, MSc, PhD

Miguel D. Saggese, DVM, MSc, PhD

Associate Professor
Veterinary Microbiology/Avian, Exotic, and Wildlife Medicine

DVM, University of Buenos Aires, Buenos Aires, Argentina, 1995
MSc University of Minnesota, Saint Paul, Minnesota
PhD, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas, 2007

msaggese@westernu.edu

Portrait of Eric Slessinger, DVM

Eric Slessinger, DVM

Instructor
Small Animal Medicine

BS, University of California, Davis, CA
DVM, Western University of Health Sciences, Pomona, CA 2010

eslessinger@westernu.edu

Portrait of Wayne W. Smith, VMD

Wayne W. Smith, VMD

Instructor
Surgery

VMD, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA, 1981

wsmith@westernu.edu

Portrait of Hrvoje Smodlaka, DVM, PhD

Hrvoje Smodlaka, DVM, PhD

Associate Professor
Anatomy

DVM, University of Zagreb 1998
PhD, University of Tennessee 2004

hsmodlaka@westernu.edu

Portrait of Dean R. Smylie, DVM

Dean R. Smylie, DVM

Assistant Professor
Equine Practice, Nutrition

DVM, Colorado State University, Ft. Collins, CO 1974

dsmylie@westernu.edu

Portrait of John H. Tegzes, MA, VMD, DABVT

John H. Tegzes, MA, VMD, DABVT

Professor
Veterinary Toxicology

MA, Applied Psychology, University of Santa Monica, Santa Monica, CA 1989
VMD, Veterinary Medicine, University of Pennsylvania, Philadelphia, PA 1995
Residency Certificate, University of California, Davis, CA 2003
Diplomate, American Board of Veterinary Toxicology 2003

jtegzes@westernu.edu

Portrait of Ronald L. Terra, DVM, MBA, MS

Ronald L. Terra, DVM, MBA, MS

Professor, Director Year Four
Food Animal Medicine

MS, Animal Science, University of California, Davis, CA 1982
DVM, University of California, Davis, CA 1982
MBA, Agriculture, University of Guelph, Ontario, Canada 2002

rterra@westernu.edu

Portrait of Suzana Tkalcic, DVM, PhD

Suzana Tkalcic, DVM, PhD

Associate Professor
Pathology

DVM, University of Zagreb, Croatia
MS, Veterinary Pathology, University of Georgia
PhD, Veterinary Pathology, University of Georgia 2001

stkalcic@westernu.edu

Portrait of John W. Tyler, DVM, DACVIM

John W. Tyler, DVM, DACVIM

Associate Professor
Small Animal Medicine

DVM, University of Georgia, Athens, GA 1982
DACVIM 1990

jtyler@westernu.edu

Portrait of Victoria L. Voith, DVM, DACVB, PhD

Victoria L. Voith, DVM, DACVB, PhD

Professor
Behavior

DVM, College of Veterinary Medicine, The Ohio State University 1968
MSc, Veterinary Clinical Sciences, The Ohio State University 1970
MA, Department of Psychology, Experimental and Comparative Psychology 1975
PhD, Neuroanatomy/Animal Behavior, University of California, Davis, CA 1982

vvoith@westernu.edu

Portrait of Katherine Wade, DVM

Katherine Wade, DVM

Instructor
Small Animal Medicine

BS, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, MA 2003
DVM, Western University of Health Sciences, Pomona CA 2010

kwade@westernu.edu

Portrait of Stephen J. Waldhalm, PhD, DVM

Stephen J. Waldhalm, PhD, DVM

Professor Emeritus

PhD, Physiology, Washington State University 1974
DVM, College of Veterinary Medicine, Washington State University 1977

swaldhalm@westernu.edu