Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Internal Medicine

Our mission is to provide students with a strong foundation in the curriculum of internal medicine and prepare them to become lifelong learners while serving their communities and practicing osteopathic medicine in an evidence-based compassionate manner. Our vision is be the leader in osteopathic internal medicine education by developing and delivering an innovative and integrated curriculum across the continuum of physician training. We are dedicated to being mentors and role models in the areas of research, patient care and community outreach.


Departmental Contact
Emmanuel Katsaros, DO, FACR
ekatsaros@westernu.edu

Faculty & Staff

Portrait of

Emmanuel Katsaros, DO, FACR

COMP

Chair & Professor of Internal Medicine

ekatsaros@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Nishita Patel, MD, FACP

COMP

Vice Chair & Professor of Internal Medicine/Infectious Disease

npatel2@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Paul Aversano, DO

COMP-Northwest

Chair, Neurology
Clinical Professor of Internal Medicine/Neurology
Government Relations

paversano@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Edward V. Barnes II, MD, FACP

COMP

Vice-Dean, College Affairs
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
Chief, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension

ebarnes@westernu.edu

Portrait of

David Clark, DO

COMP-Northwest

Assistant Professor of Neurology

clarkd@westernu.edu

WesternU Seal - Default Image

Adam M. Dost, DO, MPH

COMP

Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine

dosta@westernu.edu

WesternU Seal - Default Image

Q. Liya Leng, MD

COMP-Northwest

Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine

liyaleng@westernu.edu

WesternU Seal - Default Image

Leonard A. Mankin, MD, FACP

COMP-Northwest

Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine

lmankin@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Katrina Platt, DO

COMP

Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine

kplatt@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Andrew S. Pumerantz, DO, FACP

COMP

Professor of Internal Medicine and Population Health
Director, Population Health

apumerantz@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Airani Sathananthan, MD

COMP

Professor of Internal Medicine Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism

asathananthan@westernu.edu

WesternU Seal - Default Image

Joel Trambley, MD, PhD

COMP

Program Director, Internal Medicine
Clinical Assistant Professor of Internal Medicine

jtrambley@westernu.edu

  • Curriculum

    The faculty in the Department of Internal Medicine is actively involved in the education of our osteopathic students from the first year in which they begin to learn the fundamentals of internal medicine. Our faculty has key roles in teaching and design of the systems courses including Introduction to Disease , Immunity and Therapeutics, Blood and Lymphatics, Musculoskeletal System, Endocrine System, Cardiovascular System, Renal System, Respiratory system, and Gastrointestinal system and Nutrition, see student handbook (page 43). We also provide a structured curriculum for the third and fourth-year students while they are in their internal medicine clerkships. COMP requires twelve weeks on an internal medicine clerkship in a student’s third year and a four week sub-internship in their fourth year.

  • Useful Links