Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Clinical Sciences

The Department of Clinical Sciences consists of the Departments of Neurology, Obstetrics & Gynecology, Pathology, Pediatrics, Psychiatry and Surgery. Its faculty members are engaged in the development and delivery of pre-clinical and clinical curriculum. Chaya Prasad, MD is the Chair for and heads the Clinical Sciences Department. Please click on the name of the faculty member for additional information.

During the pre-clinical years, department faculty members work with the Office of the Provost to integrate clinically relevant information with the basic medical sciences via the systems-based approach.

In the clinical years, department faculty members work with the Clinical Education Department to develop clinical clerkships and curriculum. In addition to their efforts in the pre-clinical and clinical curriculum, members of the Clinical Sciences Department are also active in their respective clinical discipline and participate in research.


Departmental Contact
Mary Guenthart
mguenthart@westernu.edu

  • Mission

    The Mission of the Clinical Sciences Department at the College of Osteopathic Medicine of the Pacific (COMP) & COMP-Northwest is to prepare students to become technically competent, culturally sensitive, professional and compassionate physicians who are prepared for graduate medical education, who are life long learners and will serve society by providing comprehensive, patient-centered healthcare with the distinctive osteopathic philosophy. This is accomplished through excellence in curriculum, translational research, service, osteopathic clinical practice and the enhancement of osteopathic graduate medical education.

  • Faculty & Staff

    Portrait of

    Chaya Prasad, MD, MBA

    COMP

    Chair, Clinical Sciences
    Professor of Pathology

    cprasad@westernu.edu

    Emergency Medicine

    Portrait of

    Matthew Eschelbach, DO

    COMP-Northwest

    Chair & Associate Professor

    eschelbachm@westernu.edu

    Portrait of

    Charles Ross, DO

    COMP-Northwest

    Assistant Professor

    cross@westernu.edu

    Neurology

    Portrait of

    Paul Aversano, DO

    COMP-Northwest

    Clinical Professor of Internal Medicine/Neurology
    Government Relations

    paversano@westernu.edu

    Portrait of

    David A. Clark, DO

    COMP-Northwest

    Assistant Professor of Neurology

    clarkd@westernu.edu

    Obstetrics & Gynecology (OB/Gyn)

    Portrait of

    Anita Nelson, MD

    COMP

    Chair & Professor of OB/GYN

    nelsona@westernu.edu

    Pathology

    Portrait of

    Cyrus Parsa, DO

    COMP

    Chair & Professor of Pathology

    cparsa@westernu.edu

    Portrait of

    Jin Guo, MD

    COMP

    Associate Professor of Pathology

    jguo@westernu.edu

    Portrait of

    Vincent Mesa, DO

    COMP-Northwest

    Assistant Professor of Pathology

    vmesa@westernu.edu

    Pediatrics

    Portrait of

    Elisabeth Guenther, MD, MPH

    COMP-Northwest

    Director, Career Development
    Chair & Professor of Pediatrics

    eguenther@westernu.edu

    Portrait of

    Mariam Fahim, DO

    COMP

    Associate Professor of Pediatrics

    mfahim@westernu.edu

    Portrait of

    Mary Ann Magoun, DO

    COMP

    Assistant Professor of NMM/OMM and Pediatrics

    mmagoun@westernu.edu

    Portrait of

    Lisa Warren, DO

    COMP

    Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Education Associate Professor of Pediatrics

    lwarren@westernu.edu

    Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation (PM&R)

    Portrait of

    Marcel P. Fraix, DO, MBA, FAAPMR

    COMP

    Associate Dean, Admissions and Enrollment
    Chair & Professor of PM&R

    mfraix@westernu.edu

    Psychiatry and Behavioral Medicine

    Portrait of

    Yadi Fernandez-Sweeny, PsyD, MS, CRNA

    COMP

    Chair & Associate Professor of Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry

    yfernandezsweeny@westernu.edu

    Portrait of

    Mandilin Hudson, DO

    COMP-Northwest

    Assistant Professor of Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry

    hudsonm@westernu.edu

    Surgery

    Portrait of

    Vivian Davis, DO

    COMP

    Chair & Professor of Surgery

    vdavis@westernu.edu

    Portrait of

    Marian Safaoui, MD

    COMP

    Director, Career and Professional Development
    Assistant Professor of Anatomy & Surgery

    msafaoui@westernu.edu

    Support Staff

    Portrait of

    Mary Guenthart

    COMP

    Administrative Assistant III

    mguenthart@westernu.edu