Skip to Content Skip to Footer
Staged/mock setting for telemedicine encounter using

Career and Professional Development

Career & Professional Development

The Office of Career and Professional Development (OCPD) exists to provide WesternU College of Osteopathic Medicine (COMP) & COMP-Northwest students with a support network to connect them to their larger career goals. We provide support at all levels of the four year curriculum to maintain our high rate of residency match during 4th year.

If you have a question, document to review, or would like to make an appointment, please Contact Us and we will provide you with assistance.


Departmental Contact
Janet Offhaus
joffhaus@westernu.edu

Faculty & Staff

Portrait of

Lisa Warren, DO

COMP

Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Education
Associate Professor of Pediatrics

(909) 469-8492

lwarren@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Marian Safaoui, MD

COMP

Director, Career and Professional Development
Assistant Professor of Anatomy & Surgery

msafaoui@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Elisabeth Guenther, MD, MPH

COMP-Northwest

Director, Career Development
Chair & Professor of Pediatrics

eguenther@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Jess Reynolds, M.Ed

COMP-Northwest

Career Development Specialist

jareynolds@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Michael Giulietti, MA

COMP-Northwest

Career Development Specialist

mgiulietti@westernu.edu

WesternU Seal - Default Image

Brenda Samaan, MA

COMP

Career Development Specialist

bsamaan@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Lacey Avila

COMP

Career Development Specialist

lavila@westernu.edu

Portrait of

June Guerrero, BS

COMP

Career Development Specialist

jguerrero@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Janet Offhaus

COMP

Administrative Associate III

joffhaus@westernu.edu

  • Mission & Values

    Mission

    Provide guidance, strategies, and resources to develop our medical students toward their professional goals.

    Values

    • Support
    • Encouragement
    • Empowerment
    • Longitudinal mentorship
    • Holistic advising
    • Self-discovery
  • What we offer
    • Individual Holistic Advising
    • Specialty Selection
    • Specialty Specific Strategy Planning
    • Residency Application Document Review
    • Board Advising
    • Timelines & Communications
    • Interview Preparation
    • Match Support
    • Networking Opportunities
    • Data Management & Analysis
    • Faculty Development
    • Workshops & Events
  • Residency Support Links
  • Additional Resources

    If you need information on:

    1. Rotations, preceptor evaluations, or VSAS
    Contact Clinical Education
    2. Transcript, Class rank, MSPE, ERAS token
    Contact the Registrar
    3. Commencement, scholarship information
    Contact University Student Affairs  
    4. Information on FAFSA/Disbursements
    Contact Financial Aid
    5. A position at WesternU
    Contact WesternU Career
    6. Being or connecting with a mentor
    Contact Alumni Mentor Program