Skip to Content Skip to Footer

Academic Affairs

The Office of Academic Affairs offers support for all aspects of the COMP and COMP-Northwest preclinical and clinical curriculum spanning years one through four.  The preclinical department provides support to the administration and the faculty in the development and scheduling of the curriculum including – room reservations, exam preparation/administration/grading, maintenance of grades, and coordination with the College of Podiatric Medicine. The clinical education department supports students during their clinical years including rotation development and scheduling, site affiliation agreements and contracts, clinical faculty development, student issues, clinical education orientation, maintenance of rotations grades, didactic weeks specifically for COMP and COMP-Northwest.  In addition, the Office of Academic Affairs works closely with the Office of Student Affairs, the Office of Assessments and Outcomes, and the Curriculum Committee to help create the best possible educational experience for our osteopathic medical students.

Pre-Clinical Education Faculty & Staff

Portrait of

Gerald Thrush, PhD

COMP

Vice Dean, Academic Affairs
Professor of Immunology

gthrush@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Edward V. Barnes II, MD, FACP

COMP

Vice Dean, College Affairs
Associate Professor of Internal Medicine
Chief, Division of Nephrology and Hypertension

ebarnes@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Colleen Talbot, PhD

COMP-Northwest

Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs
Professor of Physiology

ctalbot@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Jesus Sanchez, DO

COMP

Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs
Professor of NMM/OMM & Family Medicine

jsanchez@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Joachim Brown, DO, MSHPE

COMP

Assistant Professor, Academic Affairs

jobrown@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Susan Mackintosh, DO, MPH

COMP

Associate Dean, Multi-Disciplinary Collaboration & College Affairs
Assistant Professor of Population Health

smackintosh@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Lara McMahon

COMP
COMP-Northwest
College of Podiatric Medicine

Director, Pre-Clinical Education

lmcmahon@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Adela Bejarano

COMP

Manager, Pre-Clinical Education

abejarano@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Patricia Camberos

COMP and College of Podiatric Medicine

Project Manager

pcamberos@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Niela Darmani

COMP

Manager, Curricular Affairs

darmanin@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Tracey O’Hara

COMP-Northwest

Lead Curriculum Coordinator

tohara@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Celina McHenry

COMP

Curriculum Coordinator

cmchenry@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Megan Mingura, BA

College of Podiatric Medicine

Curriculum & Assessment Specialist

mmingura@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Velika Patterson

COMP

Curriculum & Assessment Specialist

vpatterson@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Lauren Steele

COMP

Curriculum & Assessment Specialist

lsteele@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Christina Twedell

COMP-Northwest

Curriculum and Assessment Specialist

ctwedell@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Malinda Utley

COMP-Northwest

Curriculum Coordinator

mutley@westernu.edu

Clinical Education Faculty & Staff – COMP

Portrait of

David A Connett, DO

COMP

Acting Dean
Professor of Family Medicine

dconnett@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Stephanie White, DO

COMP

Associate Dean, Clinical Education
Associate Professor of Family Medicine

swhite@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Marisa Orser, M.Ed.

COMP

Associate Director, Clinical Education

morser@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Tyronza Herring, M.Ed

COMP

Manager, Academic Affairs

therring@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Colleen Galindo

COMP

Faculty Credentialing Specialist

cgalindo@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Laurie Itokazu

COMP

Lead Rotations Coordinator

litokazu@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Ana Hernandez

COMP

Lead Rotations Coordinator

anahernandez@westernu.edu

WesternU Seal - Default Image

Jonathan Ayala

COMP

Rotations Coordinator

jayala@westernu.edu

WesternU Seal - Default Image

Eric Dickerson

COMP

Rotations Coordinator

edickerson@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Corinne Tredinnick

COMP

Clinical Affiliations Specialist

ctredinnick@westernu.edu

Clinical Education Faculty & Staff – COMP-Northwest

Portrait of

Derrick J. Sorweide, DO, FACOFP

COMP-Northwest

Assistant Dean, Clinical Education
Associate Professor of Family Medicine

dsorweide@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Kim Ketcham

COMP-Northwest

Associate Director, Clinical Education

kketcham@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Darci Gregory

COMP-Northwest

Manager, Clinical Education

dgregory@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Lydia Castro

COMP-Northwest

Rotations Coordinator

castrol@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Kelsey Siegrist

COMP-Northwest

Rotations Coordinator

ksiegrist@westernu.edu