Skip to Content Skip to Footer

COMP Faculty Assembly

The COMP/COMP Northwest Faculty Assembly exists to provide an effective forum in order to focus on the educational mission of the college, address the needs and concerns of the faculty, formulate positions on key issues representing faculty consensus, and make decisions within its delegated scope of authority.


Departmental Contact
Kristine King
Tel: (909) 469-3483
kking@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Mihai Covasa, PhD

COMP

Chair, Faculty Assembly
Professor of Physiology

mcovasa@westernu.edu

Awards Committee

Portrait of

Brion Benninger, MD, MSc

COMP-Northwest

Executive Director, Medical Anatomy Center Professor of Anatomy

2022-2024

bbenninger@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Janice Blumer, DO, FAAO

COMP-Northwest

Vice Chair & Associate Professor of NMM/OMM and Family Medicine

2022-2023

jblumer@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Ellen Fricano, PhD

COMP

Assistant Professor of Anatomy

2022-2024

efricano@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Sebastien Fuchs, MD, PhD

COMP

Associate Professor of Pharmacology

2022-2025

sfuchs@westernu.edu

WesternU Seal - Default Image

Anna M. Hardin, PhD

COMP-Northwest

Assistant Professor of Anatomy

2022-2025

ahardin@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Airani Sathananthan, MD

COMP

Professor of Internal Medicine
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism

2022-2025

asathananthan@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Colleen Talbot, PhD

COMP-Northwest

Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs
Professor of Physiology

2022-2025

ctalbot@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Anna Yeung, DO

COMP

Director, Division of Geriatrics
Associate Professor of Family Medicine

2022-2023

ayeung@westernu.edu

Curriculum Committee

Portrait of

Jeannie Davis, EdD

COMP-Northwest

Co-Chief, Section of Community Health
Assistant Professor of Population Health Science

2020-2023

jldavis@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Rebecca Giusti, DO

COMP

Chair & Associate Professor of NMM/OMM and Family Medicine

2021-2024

rgiusti@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Emmanuel Katsaros, DO, FACR

COMP

Chair & Professor of Internal Medicine

2020-2023

ekatsaros@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Brian Kraatz, PhD

COMP

Associate Professor of Anatomy

2020-2023

bkraatz@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Bachtuyet Le, DO

COMP-Northwest

Assistant Professor of NMM/OMM and Family Medicine

2020-2023

bachtuyetle@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Adriana Pollak-Lazzaro, DO, MPH

COMP

Assistant Professor of Family Medicine

2022-2025

apollaklazzaro@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Jesus Sanchez, DO

COMP

Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs
Professor of NMM/OMM and Family Medicine

2020-2023

jsanchez@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Beatrice Saviola, PhD

COMP

Associate Professor of Microbiology

2021-2024

bsaviola@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Derrick J. Sorweide, DO, FACOFP

COMP-Northwest

Assistant Dean of Clinical Education

2022-2025

dsorweide@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Edie Sperling, DPT

COMP-Northwest

Vice Chair & Assistant Professor of Anatomy

2020-2023

esperling@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Colleen Talbot, PhD

COMP-Northwest

Assistant Dean, Academic Affairs
Professor of Physiology

2022-2025

ctalbot@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Lisa Warren, DO

COMP

Assistant Dean, Graduate Medical Education
Associate Professor of Pediatrics

2022-2025

lwarren@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Stephanie L. White, DO

COMP

Associate Dean, Clinical Education
Associate Professor of Family Medicine

2020-2023

swhite@westernu.edu

Promotion & Tenure Committee

Portrait of

Yadi Fernandez-Sweeny, PsyD, MS, CRNA

COMP

Chair & Associate Professor of Behavioral Medicine and Psychiatry

2022-2025

yfernandezsweeny@westernu.edu

Portrait of

A. Kay Kalousek, DO

COMP

Chair & Professor of Family Medicine

2020-2023

kaykalousek@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Raj P. Kandpal, PhD

COMP

Assistant Chair, Basic Medical Sciences
Professor of Biochemistry

2021-2024

rkandpal@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Vishwanath Venketaraman, PhD

COMP

Professor of Microbiology/Immunology

2022-2025

vvenketaraman@westernu.edu

Research Committee

Portrait of

Xiaoning Bi, MD, PhD

COMP

Professor of Physiology

2020-2023

xbi@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Jeannie Davis, EdD

COMP-Northwest

Co-Chief, Section of Community Health
Assistant Professor of Population Health Science

2020-2023

jldavis@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Marcel Fraix, DO, MBA, FAAPMR

COMP

Associate Dean, Admissions and Enrollment Chair & Professor of PM&R

2020-2023

mfraix@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Belinda McCully, PhD

COMP-Northwest

Assistant Professor of Physiology

2022-2025

bmccully@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Thierra K. Nalley, PhD

COMP

Assistant Professor of Anatomy

2020-2023

tnalley@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Maryam Othman MD, MPH

COMP

Chief, Section of Global Health
Director, Community Service Learning
Associate Professor, Population Health Science

2022-2025

mothman@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Chaya Prasad, MD, MBA

COMP

Chair, Clinical Sciences
Professor of Pathology

2022-2025

cprasad@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Airani Sathananthan, MD

COMP

Professor of Internal Medicine
Division of Endocrinology, Diabetes and Metabolism

2020-2023

asathananthan@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Edie Sperling, DPT

COMP-Northwest

Vice Chair & Assistant Professor of Anatomy

2021-2024

esperling@westernu.edu

Portrait of

Michelle Steinauer, PhD

COMP-Northwest

Vice-Chair, Basic Medical Sciences Associate
Professor of Microbiology

2021-2024

msteinauer@westernu.edu

  • Faculty Handbooks
  • Meeting Minutes

    Team link (TBD)

    SharePoint link (TBD)

  • Shared Governance